The last decade has brought a series of new theoretical results in database theory that lead to novel query evaluation and optimization algorithms, new information theoretic approaches to cardinality estimation, dichotomy results for incomplete and for probabilistic databases, tight bounds for the answer enumeration problem, new optimization techniques for tensor algebras, and extensions of logic semantics from the Boolean to arbitrary semirings. The common denominator of these results is their reliance on Logic, in that they apply to queries expressed in some logic. During the same time period, the complexity community on one hand, and the knowledge representation community on the other hand have produced results that inform and strengthen the developments in database theory. They include results in fine-grained complexity that establish sharp bounds for the model checking problem of first order formulas, with immediate application to the query evaluation problem in databases; results on polytope fooling that have potential to lead to improved algorithms for query evaluation on probabilistic databases; novel implementations of probabilistic logic programs based on circuits (e.g., problog); novel approaches to knowledge inference such as new statistical relational learning (e.g., PSL), and novel circuit-based knowledge compilation techniques (decision diagrams such as SDDs, Sum-Product Networks).

The program on Logic and Algorithms in Database Theory and AI brings together researchers from all three communities: database theory, complexity, and knowledge representation. The explicit goal of the program is to study the subtle interaction between logics and the algorithms that they inspire. The program will have four themes: Aspects of logical query evaluation; Fine-grained complexity through the lens of Logic; Logic-based aspects of circuit complexity and model counting; and Extensions of logics to semirings and aggregation.

Click here to subscribe to our news and events to learn more about this and other events.

Guy Van den Broeck (UCLA), Hung Ngo (RelationalAI), Sudeepa Roy (Duke University), Dan Suciu (University of Washington), Virginia Vassilevska Williams (MIT)

Long-Term Participants (tentative, including Organizers):
Mahmoud Abo Khamis (Relational AI), Antoine Amarilli (Telekom Paris), Marcelo Arenas (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile), Albert Atserias (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya), Pablo Barcelo (Universidad Católica de Chile), Wolfgang Gatterbauer (Northeastern University), Floris Geerts (University of Antwerp), Erich Graedel (University of Aachen), Valentine Kabanets (Simon Fraser University), Phokion Kolaitis (University of California, Santa Cruz), Antonina Kolokolova (Memorial University of Newfoundland), Paris Koutris (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Yanhong (Annie) Liu (Stony Brook University), Wim Martens (University of Bayreuth), Denis Deratani Mauá (University of São Paulo), Batya Kenig (Technion), Stefan Mengel (CRIL-CNRS/Université d’Artois), Tova Milo (Tel Aviv University), Ben Moseley (Carnegie Mellon University), Hung Ngo (RelationalAI), Mathias Niepert (University of Stuttgart), Dan Olteanu (University of Zurich),  Reinhard Pichler (TU Wien), Mirek Riedewald (Northeastern University), Sudeepa Roy (Duke University), Pierre Senellart (École normale supérieure), Dan Suciu (University of Washington), Val Tannen (University of Pennsylvania), Guy Van den Broeck (University of California, Los Angeles), Stijn Vansummeren (Université Libre de Bruxelles), Heribert Vollmer (Leibniz University Hannover), Ryan Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Virginia Vassilevska Williams (MITMassachusetts Institute of Technology), Uri Zwick (Tel Aviv University)

Research Fellows:
YooJung Choi (Arizona State University), Weiming Feng (University of Edinburgh), Markus Hecher (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Xiao Hu (University of Waterloo), Mikaël Monet (INRIA), Remy Wang (University of Washington), Benjie Wang (University of Oxford)

Visiting Graduate Students:
Kyle Deeds (University of Washington), Ce Jin (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Neha Makhija (Northeastern University), Timo Merkl (TU Wien), Agapi Rissaki (Northeastern University), Nikolaos Tziavelis (Northeastern University), Yinzhan Xu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)