Scientific Advisory Board

The Institute’s Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) provides broad-based external advice and guidance to the Institute leadership team on a wide range of programmatic issues. The SAB is composed of 16–20 members with a broad scientific vision, expert knowledge of theoretical computer science, and a record of scientific leadership. The SAB meets twice a year, typically in January and July or August.


Professor, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Manager of Cryptographic Research, IBM Research


Research Scientist, Google Research
Professor, Stanford University
Professor, Stanford University
Associate Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor, Weizmann Institute
Professor, UC Berkeley
Technical Fellow & Director, Microsoft Research
Professor, UC Santa Cruz and IBM Research - Almaden
Director of AI and Professor, Facebook and NYU
Professor, University of Washington
Vice President of Technology, Qualcomm Inc
Professor, MIT
Professor, California Institute of Technology
Professor, UC Berkeley
Professor, Harvard University
Professor, Cornell University

Former Members

Bill Joy, Kleiner, Perkins, Caufield & Byers, 2012–2013
Ehud Kalai, Northwestern University, 2012–2013
Ron Shamir, Tel Aviv University, 2012–2013
Moshe Vardi, Rice University, 2012–2013
Andrew Yao, Tsinghua University, 2012–2013
Sanjeev Arora, Princeton University, 2012–2014
Michael Kearns, University of Pennsylvania, 2012–2014
Maria Klawe, Harvey Mudd College, 2012–2014
Richard Lipton, Georgia Institute of Technology, 2012–2014
Michael Paterson, University of Warwick, 2012–2014
Cynthia Dwork, Harvard University, 2012–2015
Jon Kleinberg, Cornell University, 2012–2015
John Preskill, California Institute of Technology, 2012–2015
Prabhakar Raghavan, Google, 2012–2015
Tim Roughgarden, Stanford University, 2012–2015
Leslie Valiant, Harvard University, 2012–2015
Avi Wigderson, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, 2012–2015
Noga Alon, Tel Aviv University, 2013–2016
Shafi Goldwasser, Simons Institute, UC Berkeley, 2013–2016
Jeff Hawkins, Numenta, 2013–2016
Thomas Henzinger, IST Austria, 2013–2016
Aviv Regev, Broad Institute, 2013–2016
Jennifer Chayes, Microsoft Research New England, 2014–2017
Russell Impagliazzo , UC San Diego, 2014–2017
Kurt Mehlhorn, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, 2014–2017
Peter Norvig, Google Research, 2014–2017
Kenneth Ribet, UC Berkeley, 2014–2017
Mihalis Yannakakis, Columbia University, 2014–2017