Spring 2020

Quantum Protocols: Testing & Quantum PCPs

Mar. 30Apr. 3, 2020

Add to Calendar


Henry Yuen (University of Toronto; chair), Dorit Aharonov (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Yael Kalai (Microsoft Research New England), Thomas Vidick (California Institute of Technology)

This workshop will explore questions around the testing of quantum devices. This includes different models for testing, such as the single- and multi-device models, classical or limited quantum verifiers, and information-theoretic security versus computational assumptions. Workshop themes encompass the foundations of quantum mechanics, classical and quantum cryptography (device independence, delegated computation), and complexity theory (classical and quantum probabilistically checkable proofs).

Further details about this workshop will be posted in due course. Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop-quantum2 [at] lists [dot] simons [dot] berkeley [dot] edu (at this address).

Registration is required to attend this workshop. Space may be limited, and you are advised to register early. The link to the registration form will appear on this page approximately 10 weeks before the workshop. To submit your name for consideration, please register and await confirmation of your acceptance before booking your travel.

Invited Participants: 

Scott Aaronson (University of Texas at Austin), Dorit Aharonov (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Gorjan Alagic (QuICS, University of Maryland), Anurag Anshu (Centre For Quantum Technologies), Boaz Barak (Harvard University), Aleksandrs Belovs (University of Latvia), Daniel J. Bernstein (University of Illinois at Chicago and Ruhr University Bochum), Zvika Brakerski (Weizmann Institute of Science), Fernando Brandao (Caltech), Sergey Bravyi (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center), Andrew Childs (University of Maryland), Isaac Chuang (MIT), J. Ignacio Cirac (Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik), Andrea Wei Coladangelo (California Institute of Technology), Matthew Coudron (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Elizabeth Crosson (University of New Mexico), David Di Vicenzo (RWTH Aachen University), David DiVincenzo (RWTH Aachen), Yfke Dulek (University of Amsterdam), Vedran Dunjko (Leiden University), Kirsten Eisentrager (Penn State), Jens Eisert (Freie Universität Berlin), Bill Fefferman (University of Chicago), Sevag Gharibian (University of Padderborn), András Pál Gilyén (Centrum Wiskunde en Informatica), David Gosset (University of Waterloo), Daniel Gottesman (Perimeter Institute), Alex Bredariol Grilo (CWI and QuSoft), Sean Hallgren (Pennsylvania State University), Aram Harrow (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Nicholas Hunter-Jones (Perimeter Institute), Sandra Irani (UC Irvine), Stacey Jeffery (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica), Iordanis Kerenidis (CNRS - Université Paris Diderot), Robin Kothari (Microsoft Research), Debbie Leung (University of Waterloo), Guang-Hao Low (Microsoft Research), Urmila Mahadev (UC Berkeley), Nicholas Mayhall (Virginia Tech), Saeed Mehraban (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Ashley Montanaro (University of Bristol), Ben Reichardt (University of Southern California), Miklos Santha (Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7), Christian Schaffner (University of Amsterdam), Norbert Schuch (Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics), Barbara Terhal (Delft University of Technology), Umesh Vazirani (UC Berkeley), Thomas Vidick (California Institute of Technology), Alec White (Caltech), James Whitfield (Dartmouth College), Nathan Wiebe (Microsoft Research), Xiaodi Wu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Penghui Yao (Nanjing University), Henry Yuen (University of Toronto)