Summer 2019

Emerging Challenges in Deep Learning

Aug. 5Aug. 8, 2019

Add to Calendar


Matus Telgarsky (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; chair), Moritz Hardt (UC Berkeley), Sergey Levine (UC Berkeley), Aleksander Mądry (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Ohad Shamir (Weizmann Institute)

This final workshop will serve two purposes. On one hand, it will survey some of the new, emerging challenges in deep learning: For example, interpretability and verification, failure areas, reinforcement learning, and societal concerns broadly defined (including fairness and privacy). On the other hand, this event will constitute a "capstone” of the program, aiming to support ongoing collaborations between program participants and industry visitors with an intent of sustaining their continuation beyond the program.

All events take place in the Calvin Lab auditorium.

Further details about this workshop will be posted in due course. Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop-dl2 [at] lists [dot] simons [dot] berkeley [dot] edu (at this address).

Registration is required to attend this workshop. Space may be limited, and you are advised to register early. To submit your name for consideration, please register and await confirmation of your acceptance before booking your travel.

Invited Participants: 

Yossi Arjevani (Weizmann Institute of Science), Raman Arora (Johns Hopkins University), Yasaman Bahri (Google Brain), Yu Bai (Stanford University), Bolton Bailey (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Peter Bartlett (UC Berkeley), Misha Belkin (Ohio State University), Shai Ben-David (University of Waterloo), Alex Dimakis (University of Texas at Austin), Alyosha Efros (UC Berkeley), Laurent El Ghaoui (UC Berkeley), Soheil Feizi (University of Maryland, College Park), Vitaly Feldman (Google Brain), Dylan Foster (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)), Ruiqi Gao (University of Southern California), Surbhi Goel (University of Texas at Austin), Quanquan Gu (University of California, Los Angeles), Suriya Gunasekar (Toyota Technology Institute, Chicago), Boris Hanin (Texas A&M), Daniel Hsu (Columbia University), Ruhui Jin (University of Texas at Austin), Varun Jog (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Mike Jordan (UC Berkeley), Pritish Kamath (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Stefani Karp (Carnegie Mellon University), Been Kim (Google Brain), Adam Klivans (University of Texas at Austin), Zico Kolter (CMU Bosch), Tomer Koren (Google Research), Jason Lee (University of Southern California), Qi Lei (University of Texas at Austin), Zachary Lipton (Carnegie Mellon University), Po-Ling Loh (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Philip Long (Google Brain), Tengyu Ma (Stanford University), Michael Mahoney (International Computer Science Institute and UC Berkeley), Elchanan Mossel (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Behnam Neyshabur (New York University), Quynh Nguyen (Saarland University), Adit Radhakrishnan (MIT), Maithra Raghu (Google Brain), Andrej Risteski (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)), Daniel Roy (University of Toronto), Gintare Karolina Dziugaite (University of Cambridge), Sushant Sachdeva (University of Toronto), Anant Sahai (UC Berkeley), Colin Sandon (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Peter Sarnak (IAS), Dana Scott (UC Berkeley), Hanie Sedghi (Google Brain), Sanjit Seshia (UC Berkeley), Shai Shalev-Shwartz (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Yaron Singer (Harvard University), Yoram Singer (Google Brain), Aarti Singh (Carnegie Mellon University), Jascha Sohl-Dickstein (Google Brain), Mahdi Soltanolkotabi (University of Southern California), Dawn Song (UC Berkeley), Nike Sun (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), T.S. Jayram (IBM Almaden Research), Rene Vidal (Johns Hopkins University), Nisheeth Vishnoi (Yale University), Martin Wainwright (UC Berkeley), Rachel Ward (University of Texas at Austin), Colin Wei (Stanford University), Shirley Wu (University of Texas at Austin), Ruicheng Xian (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Bin Yu (UC Berkeley), Laura Zaremba (Groq)