Recent years have seen a dramatic rise of interest in the mathematics of higher-order tensors and their applications. It is well known that the notion of tensor rank is of great relevance for computer science through the famous, but still unsolved, problem of the complexity of matrix multiplication. Moreover, many combinatorial and optimization problems may also be naturally formulated as tensor problems. Analyzing the notion of tensor rank leads to the study of secant varieties of classical algebraic varieties (e.g., Segre and Veronese), which has seen considerable progress recently. In addition to issues of interest to theoretical computer scientists, there are now a wide range of applications of tensor methods, including signal processing, quantum information theory, machine learning, algebraic statistics, and others. A deeper understanding of the geometry of tensors is likely to bear fruit that should lead to further progress in these applications. The workshop will focus on the latest algorithmic, complexity, and mathematical results in multilinear algebra, with a view towards questions of relevance in computer science.

Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop_alggeom3 [at] lists.simons.berkeley.edu (at this address.)

Invited Participants

Hirotachi Abo (University of Idaho), Saugata Basu (Purdue University), Alessandra Bernardi (Università di Bologna), Aditya Bhaskara (Google Research, New York), Greg Blekherman (Georgia Institute of Technology), Jarek Buczynski (Polish Academy of Sciences), Peter Bürgisser (Technische Universität Berlin), Jin-Yi Cai (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Enrico Carlini (Monash University and Poltiecnico di Torino), Moses Charikar (Princeton University), Luca Chiantini (University of Siena), Matthias Christandl (University of Copenhagen), Henry Cohn (Microsoft Research New England), Harm Derksen (University of Michigan), Jan Draisma (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven), Klim Efremenko (University of Chicago), David Eisenbud (Mathematical Sciences Research Institute), Ioannis Emiris (University of Athens), Cameron Farnsworth (Texas A&M University), Michael Forbes (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Shmuel Friedland (University of Illinois at Chicago), Rong Ge (Microsoft Research), Fulvio Gesmundo (Texas A&M University), Gilad Gour (University of Calgary), Elizabeth Gross (San Jose State University), David Gross (University of Freiburg), Yonghui Guan (Texas A&M University), Jon Hauenstein (University of Notre Dame), Isa Herrero (Universidad de Buenos Aires), Serkan Hosten (San Francisco State University), Shenglong Hu (National University of Singapore), Christian Ikenmeyer (Texas A&M University), Fotis Iliopoulos (UC Berkeley), Sham Kakade (Microsoft Research New England), Robert Krone (Georgia Institute of Technology), Kaie Kubjas (Aalto University), Mario Kummer (Universität Konstanz), JM Landsberg (Texas A&M University), Francois Le Gall (University of Tokyo), Wei Li (Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences), Lek-heng Lim (University of Chicago), Ricky Liu (University of Michigan), Gregorio Malajovich (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro), Mateusz Michalek (Polish Academy of Sciences), Akimasa Miyake (University of New Mexico), Ankur Moitra (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Jason Morton (Pennsylvania State University), Bernard Mourrain (INRIA Sophia Antipolis), Ketan Mulmuley (University of Chicago), Jiawang Nie (UC San Diego), Matt Niemerg (Colorado State University), Luke Oeding (Auburn University), Giorgio Ottaviani (Università di Firenze), Pablo Parrilo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Elisa Postinghel (University of Leuven), Claudiu Raicu (University of Notre Dame), Jose Rodriguez (University of Notre Dame), Zvi Rosen (UC Berkeley), Ben Rossman (National Institute of Informatics), Frank Sottile (Texas A&M University), Bernd Sturmfels (UC Berkeley), Zach Teitler (Boise State University), Chris Umans (California Institute of Technology), Aravindan Vijayaraghavan (Courant Institute, NYU), Cynthia Vinzant (University of Michigan), Benjamin Weitz (UC Berkeley), Virginia Vassilevska Williams (Stanford University), Ryan Williams (Stanford University), Ke Ye (University of Chicago).