Spectral inequalities, logarithmic Sobolev inequalities and hyper-contractive inequalities are all extensively used in applications of discrete Fourier analysis to learning, hardness of approximation and communication complexity, as well as in the analysis of Markov chain Monte Carlo algorithms and in other areas of theoretical computer science. This workshop will focus on such inequalities in discrete settings and their applications.

Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop_realanalysis2 [at] lists.simons.berkeley.edu (at this address.)

Invited Participants

Naman Agarwal (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Ron Blei (University of Connecticut), Sergey Bobkov (University of Minnesota), Andrej Bogdanov (Chinese University of Hong Kong), Almut Burchard (University of Toronto), Chaim Even-Zohar (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Anindya De (UC Berkeley), Ilias Diakonikolas (University of Edinburgh), Devdatt Dubhashi (Chalmers University of Technology), Ronen Eldan (Microsoft Research), Brendan Farrell (California Institute of Technology), Yuval Filmus (University of Toronto), Ehud Friedgut (Weizmann Institute), Prahladh Harsha (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research), Johan Håstad (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Hamed Hatami (McGill University), Pooya Hatami (University of Chicago), Steven Heilman (Courant Institute, NYU), Ming Jin (UC Berkeley), Gil Kalai (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Varun Kanade (UC Berkeley), Bruce Kapron (University of Victoria), Nathan Keller (Bar-Ilan University), Anthony Kim (Stanford University), Guy Kindler (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Alexandra Kolla (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Rafał Latała (University of Warsaw), Michel Ledoux (University of Toulouse), Lisha Li (UC Berkeley), Nati Linial (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Jan Maas (University of Bonn), Laurent Miclo (University of Toulouse), Elchanan Mossel (UC Berkeley), Piotr Nayar (University of Warwick), Joe Neeman (UC Berkeley), Krzysztof Oleszkiewicz (University of Warsaw), Yuval Peres (Microsoft Research Redmond), Prasad Raghavendra (UC Berkeley), Oded Regev (Courant Institute, NYU), Cyrille Roberto (Université Paris Ouest), Raphaël Rossignol (University of Grenoble), Sushant Sachdeva (Princeton University), Muli Safra (Tel Aviv University), Alex Samorodnitzky (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Dominik Scheder (Aarhus University), Arnab Sen (University of Minnesota), Jeffrey Steif (Chalmers University of Technology), Prasad Tetali (Georgia Institute of Technology), Tomasz Tkocz (University of Warwick), Luca Trevisan (Stanford University), Jan Vondrák (IBM Almaden), Andrew Wan (Harvard University), Cenny Wenner (KTH Royal Institute of Technology and Stockholm University), Karl Wimmer (Duquesne University), Paweł Wolff (University of Warsaw), Mary Wootters (University of Michigan), Yi Wu (Purdue University).