Summer 2019

Deep Learning Boot Camp

May 28May 31, 2019

Add to Calendar


Sébastien Bubeck (Microsoft Research; chair), Elchanan Mossel (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Matus Telgarsky (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

The Boot Camp is intended to acquaint program participants with the key themes of the program. It will consist of four days of tutorial presentations from the following speakers:

  • Sasha Rakhlin (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Peter Bartlett (UC Berkeley)
  • Jason Lee (University of Southern California)
  • Nati Srebro (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago)
  • Kamalika Chaudhuri (UC San Diego)
  • Matus Telgarsky (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Further details about this boot camp will be posted in due course. Enquiries may be sent to the organizers dl2019 [at] lists [dot] simons [dot] berkeley [dot] edu (at this address).

All events take place in the Calvin Lab auditorium.

Registration is required to attend this boot camp. Space may be limited, and you are advised to register early. To submit your name for consideration, please register and await confirmation of your acceptance before booking your travel.

Invited Participants: 

Anima Anandkumar (California Institute of Technology and Nvidia), Yossi Arjevani (Weizmann Institute of Science), Raman Arora (Johns Hopkins University), Yu Bai (Stanford University), Bolton Bailey (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Peter Bartlett (UC Berkeley), Misha Belkin (Ohio State University), Emma Brunskill (Stanford University), Konstantinos Daskalakis (MIT), Alex Dimakis (University of Texas at Austin), Alyosha Efros (UC Berkeley), Laurent El Ghaoui (UC Berkeley), Logan Engstrom (MIT), Soheil Feizi (University of Maryland, College Park), Vitaly Feldman (Google Brain), Dylan Foster (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)), Ruiqi Gao (University of Southern California), Surbhi Goel (University of Texas at Austin), Quanquan Gu (University of California, Los Angeles), Suriya Gunasekar (Toyota Technology Institute, Chicago), Boris Hanin (Texas A&M), Moritz Hardt (UC Berkeley), Daniel Hsu (Columbia University), Andrew Ilyas (MIT), Varun Jog (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Matt Jordan (University of Texas at Austin), Mike Jordan (UC Berkeley), Pritish Kamath (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Stefani Karp (Carnegie Mellon University), Adam Klivans (University of Texas at Austin), Frederic Koehler (MIT), Tomer Koren (Google Research), Jason Lee (University of Southern California), Qi Lei (University of Texas at Austin), Po-Ling Loh (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Tengyu Ma (Stanford University), Omar Montasser (TTI-Chicago), Behnam Neyshabur (New York University), Quynh Nguyen (Saarland University), Adit Radhakrishnan (MIT), Maithra Raghu (Google Brain), Ali Rahimi (Google), Sujit Rao (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)), Andrej Risteski (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)), Daniel Roy (University of Toronto), Gintare Karolina Dziugaite (University of Cambridge), Anant Sahai (UC Berkeley), Colin Sandon (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Sujay Sanghavi (Amazon), Shibani Santurkar (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Peter Sarnak (IAS), Dana Scott (UC Berkeley), Hanie Sedghi (Google Brain), Yaron Singer (Harvard University), Aarti Singh (Carnegie Mellon University), Mahdi Soltanolkotabi (University of Southern California), Dawn Song (UC Berkeley), Nati Srebro Bartom (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago), Nike Sun (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), T.S. Jayram (IBM Almaden Research), Dimitris Tsipras (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Rene Vidal (Johns Hopkins University), Nisheeth Vishnoi (Yale University), Kiran Vodrahalli (Columbia University), Martin Wainwright (UC Berkeley), Colin Wei (Stanford University), Shirley Wu (University of Texas at Austin), Ruicheng Xian (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Bin Yu (UC Berkeley), Laura Zaremba (Groq), Shirley Wu (University of Texas at Austin), Ruicheng Xian (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Bin Yu (UC Berkeley), Laura Zaremba (Groq)