The 41st Bay Area Discrete Mathematics Day is locally organized by: Jessica De Silva (Stanislaus State), Chris Eur (Stanford), Isabelle Shankar (UC Berkeley), Mariel Supina (UC Berkeley), Foster Tom (UC Berkeley), Magda Hlavacek (UC Berkeley), and Sylvie Corteel (UC Berkeley)

BAD Math Days are one-day meetings aimed at facilitating communication between researchers and graduate students of discrete mathematics around the San Francisco Bay Area. These days happen twice a year and strive to create an informal atmosphere to talk about discrete mathematics. The term discrete mathematics is chosen to include at least the following topics: Algebraic and Enumerative Combinatorics, Discrete Geometry, Graph Theory, Coding and Design Theory, Combinatorial Aspects of Computational Algebra and Geometry, Combinatorial Optimization, Probabilistic Combinatorics, Combinatorial Aspects of Statistics, and Combinatorics in Mathematical Physics.

One of the goals of BAD Math Day is to create a welcoming environment for all participants. We are dedicated to providing a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, or religion. For that reason, we ask you to be mindful of your words and actions when communicating with others. If there is a situation during the conference that makes you feel unwelcome, we ask you to please talk to one of the organizers so we can help you as best as we can.

Students, you are very welcome! We have asked the speakers to prepare talks that are accessible to you.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Simons Institute events are currently taking place online. Please register to receive the Zoom access details.

If you require accommodation for communication, please contact our Access Coordinator at simonsevents [at] berkeley.edu with as much advance notice as possible.

BAD Math Organizing Committee:

Andrea Arauza Rivera, California State University, East Bay
Federico Ardila, San Francisco State University
Anastasia Chavez, University of California, Davis
Sylvie Corteel, University of California, Berkeley
Jessica De Silva, Stanislaus State University
Natalie Hobson, Sonoma State University
Sogol Jahanbekam, San Jose State University
Robert Krone, University of California, Davis
Nicolette Meshkat, Santa Clara University
Carol Meyers, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Rick Scott, Santa Clara University
Ruriko Yoshida, Naval Postgraduate School