We are entering an era of real-time discovery and inference from instruments such as astronomical telescopes, light sources, high-energy physics particle trackers, brain-machine interfaces, earthquake detectors and environmental sensors. Increasingly, however, such inferences from large volumes of complex data must be acted on with very little or no human cognition in the loop due to the real-time requirements of the experiment or feedback from the observations. This workshop will explore the computational requirements of such applications, with particular emphasis on new techniques for handling these challenges including workflow design, machine learning and novel computational architectures.

Visit the schedule page for the archived videos.

Invited Participants

Alexandre Bayen (UC Berkeley), Eric Bellm (University of Washington), Josh Bloom (UC Berkeley), Lenore Blum (Carnegie Mellon University), Allan Borodin (University of Toronto), Alessandra Corsi (Texas Tech University), Adithya Devraj (University of Florida), Caterina Doglioni (Lund University), Anca Dragan (UC Berkeley), Daniel Freund (Cornell University), Xinbo Geng (Texas A&M University), Anna Gilbert (University of Michigan), Abhishek Gupta (Ohio State University), Swati Gupta (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Brian Hayes (American Scientist), David Hogg (New York University), Mehdi Jafarnia (University of Southern California), Rahul Jain (University of Southern California), Hans Johansen (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Ramesh Johari (Stanford University), John Kallaugher (University of Texas at Austin), Ravi Kannan (Microsoft Research India), Dick Karp (UC Berkeley), Mansi Kasliwal (California Institute of Technology), Anatoly Khina (California Institute of Technology), Ali Khodabakhsh (University of Texas at Austin), Victoria Kostina (California Institute of Technology), Jane MacFarlane (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and UC Berkeley), Richard Murray (California Institute of Technology), Benjamin Nachman (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Evdokia Nikolova (University of Texas at Austin), Peter Nugent (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Hakeem Oluseyi (Florida Institute of Technology), Amedeo Perazzo (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory), Corey Potvin (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Manolis Pountourakis (Northwestern University), Balaji Prabhakar (Stanford University), Eric Price (University of Texas at Austin), Shijin Rajakrishnan (Cornell University), Armin Rest (Harvard University), Sarah Richardson (MicroByre), Illya Shapoval (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), David Shmoys (Cornell University), Eva Tardos (Cornell University), Vasily Titov (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Craig Tull (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Joe Warrington (ETH Zürich), David Williamson (Cornell University), John Wu (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Le Xie (Texas A&M University)