Wherever there are separate communities of “theorists” and “practitioners,” those communities could be talking more. The focus of this workshop will be to bring together theorists (across CS, EE, math, and physics) with applied and industrial researchers employing error-correcting codes in their work. This will inspire new questions for theorists to think about, and perhaps will also enable the communication of theoretical ideas back into practice. Because of the Simons Institute’s location in the Bay Area, this workshop will be able to attract many local practitioners working in industry, including those working on distributed storage and compute systems, building hardware for memory, and building quantum computers. We will also invite researchers in academia working on implementing emerging technologies, including resistive RAM, DNA storage, coded computation, and quantum computing. On the theoretical side, we will invite theorists from a wide range of areas.

Please note: the Simons Institute regularly captures photos and video of activity around the Institute for use in videos, publications, and promotional materials. 

Invited Participants

Suihua Cai (Sun Yat-sen University), Robert Calderbank (Duke University), Sebastian Cammerer (Nvidia), Yuval Cassuto (Technion), Jean-Francois Chamberland (Texas A&M University), Lara Dolecek (UCLA), Stark Draper (University of Toronto), Ashley Hasson (Simons InstituteTest2), Jing Jiang (Qualcomm), Hyemi Kim (The University of Texas at Austin), Frank Kschischang (University of Toronto), Michael Lentmaier (Lund University), Gianluigi Liva (DLR), Michael Luby (BitRipple, Inc.), Xiao Ma (Sun Yat-sen University), Hessam Mahdavifar (Northeastern University), Arya Mazumdar (UC San Diego), Olgica Milenkovic (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Vera Miloslavskaya (University of New England – Australia), Aditya Ramamoorthy (Iowa State University), Narayanan Rengaswamy (University of Arizona), Thomas Richardson (Qualcomm), Emina Soljanin (Rutgers), Ido Tal (Technion), Rüdiger Urbanke (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne), Rashmi Vinayak (Carnegie Mellon University), Emanuele Viterbo (Monash University), Antonia Wachter-Zeh (TU Munich), Qianfan Wang (Sun Yat-sen University), Richard Wesel (UCLA), Fan Zhang (SK Hynix / Solidigm), Mats Öberg (Marvell)