Spring 2019

Beyond Differential Privacy

May 6May 10, 2019

Add to Calendar


Katrina Ligett (Hebrew University; chair), Kobbi Nissim (Georgetown University), Omer Reingold (Stanford University), Aaron Roth (University of Pennsylvania)

The notion of differential privacy has provided a firm foundation for the formal study of privacy guarantees. Building on this foundation, this workshop will explore the frontiers of how privacy guarantees (and harms from privacy losses) can be measured, quantified, and combined. Talks will introduce alternative privacy notions and will probe key properties of these definitions, such as composition and concentration properties. The workshop will also formally consider privacy guarantees in strategic contexts—e.g., how can and should one set incentives and design mechanisms in settings where privacy is of concern? How might equilibrium behaviors affect the privacy properties of systems with multiple selfish actors? This workshop will naturally touch on recent developments at the intersection of privacy, economics, and game theory.

Further details about this workshop will be posted in due course. Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop-privacy3 [at] lists [dot] simons [dot] berkeley [dot] edu (at this address).

All events take place in the Calvin Lab auditorium.

Registration is required to attend this workshop. To submit your name for consideration, please register and await confirmation of your acceptance to the workshop before booking your travel. Space may be limited, and you are advised to register early.

Invited Participants: 

Solon Barocas (Microsoft Research), Anupam Datta (Carnegie Mellon University), Niva Elkin-Koren (University of Haifa), Seda Guerses (Catholic University of Leuven), Mireille Hildebrandt (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Chris Jay Hoofnagle (UC Berkeley), Christina Ilvento (Harvard University), Sampath Kannan (University of Pennsylvania), Michael Kim (Stanford University), Jon Kleinberg (Cornell University), Jon Krosnick (Stanford University), Julia Lane (NYU), Katrina Ligett (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Ilya Mironov (Google), Jamie Morgenstern (University of Pennsylvania), Xiaosheng Mu (Columbia University and Cowles Foundation), Seth Neel (University of Pennsylvania), Kobbi Nissim (Georgetown University), Julia Powles (NYU), Omer Reingold (Stanford University), Aaron Roth (University of Pennsylvania), Lalitha Sankar (Arizona State University), Vitaly Shmatikov (Cornell Tech), Inbal Talgam-Cohen (Stanford), Salil Vadhan (Harvard University), Bo Waggoner (Microsoft Research), Rebecca Wright (Rutgers University), Gal Yona (Weizmann Institute)