Events Spring 2020

Reading Group on MIP* = RE and its Application to Connes' Embedding Problem

Repeats every week every Friday until Fri May 08 2020.
Friday, Feb. 28, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PST
Friday, Mar. 6, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PST
Friday, Mar. 13, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, Mar. 20, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, Mar. 27, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, Apr. 3, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, Apr. 10, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, Apr. 17, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, Apr. 24, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, May 1, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT
Friday, May 8, 2020 2:00 pm3:30 pm PDT

Add to Calendar

Location: 

Connection details forthcoming

Work by Zhengfeng Ji, Anand Natarajan, Thomas Vidick, John Wright, and Henry Yuen (https://arxiv.org/abs/2001.04383) shows that MIP*=RE which, among other things, resolves the Connes Embedding Problem (https://arxiv.org/abs/2001.04383). 

This reading group will work through their result (and the techniques it is built upon) and understanding them from an operator algebras/free probability point of view. Since much of the material is a field or two over, a strong background in operator algebras will not be necessary or assumed.