Fall 2018

Robust and High-Dimensional Statistics

Oct. 29Nov. 2, 2018

Add to Calendar


Andrea Montanari (Stanford University; chair), Emmanuel Candès (Stanford University), Ilias Diakonikolas (University of Southern California), Santosh Vempala (Georgia Institute of Technology)

This workshop will focus on recent developments in high-dimensional statistics, with an emphasis on different notions of robustness, the extent to which recent developments in theoretical computer science can lead to improvements with respect to traditional statistical metrics, challenges arising when the number of data points and the number of features diverge at similar rates, etc.  Other potential topics are inference and causality, as well as inference after selection, i.e., data snooping and problems of multiple inference. 

Invited Participants: 

Ery Arias-Castro (UC San Diego), Sivaraman Balakrishnan (Carnegie Mellon University), Laura Balzano (University of Michigan), Peter Bartlett (UC Berkeley), Shai Ben-David (University of Waterloo), Kush Bhatia (UC Berkeley), Peter Bickel (UC Berkeley), Jelena Bradic (UC San Diego), Peter Bühlmann (ETH Zürich), Amit Chakrabarti (Dartmouth College), Ken Clarkson (IBM Almaden), Jelena Diakonikolas (Boston University), Simon Du (Carnegie Mellon University), John Duchi (Stanford University), Zhou Fan (Yale University), Vitaly Feldman (Google), Chao Gao (University of Chicago), Rong Ge (Duke University), Amir Gholaminejad (UC Berkeley), Wooseok Ha (UC Berkeley), Mohammad Hajiaghayi (University of Maryland), Samuel Hopkins (UC Berkeley), Adel Javanmard (USC), Jiantao Jiao (UC Berkeley), Brendan Juba (Washington University in St. Louis), John Kallaugher (University of Texas at Austin), Daniel Kane (UC San Diego), Adam Klivans (University of Texas at Austin), Gilad Lerman (University of Minnesota), Jerry Li (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Lin Lin (UC Berkeley), Po-Ling Loh (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Yian Ma (UC Berkeley), Lester Mackey (Microsoft Research), Michael Mahoney (International Computer Science Institute and UC Berkeley), Yury Makarychev (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago), Alan Malek (MIT), Dustin Mixon (Ohio State University), Dmitriy Morozov (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Sayan Mukherjee (Duke University), Boaz Nadler (Weizmann Institute of Science), Rasmus Pagh (IT University of Copenhagen), Sourabh Palande (University of Utah), Eric Price (University of Texas at Austin), Anup B. Rao (Adobe), Chiara Sabatti (Stanford University), Sujay Sanghavi (University of Texas at Austin), Michael Saunders (Stanford University), Andrew Saxe (Oxford University, UK), Fei Shi (Carnegie Mellon University), Weijie Su (University of Pennsylvania), Pragya Sur (Stanford University), Yan Shuo Tan (University of Michigan), Madeleine Udell (Cornell University), Aravindan Vijayaraghavan (Northwestern University), Anastasia Voloshinov (USC), Rachel Ward (University of Texas at Austin), David Woodruff (Carnegie Mellon University), Shirley Wu (University of Texas at Austin)