Fall 2019

Large-Scale Consensus and Blockchains

Oct. 22Oct. 25, 2019

Add to Calendar


Dahlia Malkhi (VMWare Research), Elaine Shi (Cornell University)

Consensus protocols -- distributed protocols for agreeing on the state of a system in the presence of corruptions and network failures -- are at the core of distributed computing and also provide a foundational building protocol for multi-party cryptographic protocols. The emergence of Bitcoin, and its associated blockchain protocol, has led to an urgent need from the public and industry for new types of consensus protocols that scale to a large number of participants, deal with ever-changing participants, and for some applications (such as Bitcoin) operate in a fully "permissionless" setting (anyone can arbitrarily join and leave the computation).

This workshop will focus on the theoretical foundations of these new desiderata. The main sub-themes are: the theoretical analysis of existing protocols (such as Bitcoin's blockchain protocol) or alternative protocols; the formulation of security goals; the study of game-theoretic challenges that are new to this setting; and the development of practical protocols that address an increasing demand from the public and industry.

Further details about this workshop will be posted in due course. Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop-proofs2 [at] lists [dot] simons [dot] berkeley [dot] edu (at this address).

All events take place in the Calvin Lab auditorium.

Registration is required to attend this workshop. Space may be limited, and you are advised to register early. The link to the registration form will appear on this page approximately 10 weeks before the workshop. To submit your name for consideration, please register and await confirmation of your acceptance before booking your travel.

Invited Participants: 

Yehuda Afek (Tel Aviv University), Gal Arnon (Weizmann Institute of Science), Eli Ben-Sasson (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology), Amey Bhangale (The Weizmann Institute of Science), Dan Boneh (Stanford University), Joseph Bonneau (NYU), Jonathan Bootle (IBM Research- Zurich), Benedikt Bünz (Stanford University), Jing Chen (Stony Brook University), Alessandro Chiesa (UC Berkeley), Vincent Danos (CNRS), Stefan Dziembowski (University of Warsaw), Georg Fuchsbauer (INRIA), Eli Gafni (UCLA), Chaya Ganesh (Aarhus University), Sergey Gorbunov (University of Waterloo), Prahladh Harsha (TIFR), Justin Holmgren (Princeton University), Yael Kalai (MSR), Eleftherios Kokoris-kogias (EPFL), Yun Lu (University of Edinburgh), Mike Luby (ICSI), Giulio Malavolta (Friedrich-Alexander University (Erlangen-Nürnberg)), David Mazières (Stanford University), Claudio Orlandi (Aarhus University), Rafael Pass (Cornell University), Oxana Poburinnaya (Boston University), Alex Psomas (Carnegie Mellon University), Srivatsan Ravi (USC), Omer Reingold (Stanford University), Guy Rothblum (Weizmann Institute), Muli Safra (Tel Aviv University), Amit Sahai (UCLA), Srinath Setty (Microsoft Research Redmond), Clara Shikhelman (Tel Aviv University), Alberto Sonnino (University College London), Eran Tromer (Tel Aviv University), Muthu Venkitasubramaniam (University of Rochester), Mike Walfish (NYU), Eylon Yogev (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology), Vassilis Zikas (University of Edinburgh)