Spring 2020

Lattices: From Theory to Practice

Apr. 27May 1, 2020

Add to Calendar


Vadim Lyubashevksy (IBM Research; chair), Shai Halevi (IBM Research), Damien Stehlé (École Normale Supérieure de Lyon), Vinod Vaikuntanathan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Recent trends, such as the NIST initiative to standardize post-quantum cryptography, point to large-scale adoption of lattice-based cryptography in the near future. There has consequently been a great deal of attention devoted to making various aspects of lattice-based cryptography practical.        

This workshop will focus on questions related to the transition of lattice-based cryptography from theory to practice including the hardness of lattice problems arising from algebraic number theory, and algorithmic solutions to practical issues such as time and space-efficiency, side-channel resistance, and ease of hardware implementations.

The workshop will bring together theoretical and applied cryptographers and computational number-theorists, and will also encourage interaction amongst different communities within and outside cryptography.

Further details about this workshop will be posted in due course. Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop-lattices3 [at] lists [dot] simons [dot] berkeley [dot] edu (at this address).

Registration is required to attend this workshop. Space may be limited, and you are advised to register early. The link to the registration form will appear on this page approximately 10 weeks before the workshop. To submit your name for consideration, please register and await confirmation of your acceptance before booking your travel.