Spring 2020

Lattices: New Cryptographic Capabilities

Mar. 23Mar. 26, 2020

Add to Calendar


Hoeteck Wee (École Normale Supérieure, Paris; chair), Shweta Agrawal (IIT Madras), Zvika Brakerski (Weizmann Institute)

Lattices have helped us achieve cryptographic goals that were a cryptographer’s dream for decades. This includes fully homomorphic encryption, homomorphic signatures, attribute-based encryption schemes and many more. Part of the interest in lattice-based cryptography stems from the fact that currently, it is the only way to construct these advanced cryptographic schemes. This workshop will focus on squeezing the most out of lattices, with the ultimate aim of basing all of cryptography on the hardness of lattice problems (the so-called “cryptopia”).

Lattice-based cryptography is a rapidly developing area with huge potential impact. We believe that by bringing together the experts in this area, we can achieve major advances in this area.

Further details about this workshop will be posted in due course. Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop-lattices2 [at] lists [dot] simons [dot] berkeley [dot] edu (at this address).

Registration is required to attend this workshop. Space may be limited, and you are advised to register early. The link to the registration form will appear on this page approximately 10 weeks before the workshop. To submit your name for consideration, please register and await confirmation of your acceptance before booking your travel.

Invited Participants: 

Dan Boneh (Stanford University), Ran Canetti (Boston University), Romain Gay (École Normale Supérieure Paris), Siyao Guo (Northeastern University), Justin Holmgren (Princeton University), Benoit Libert (ENS Lyon), Arya Mazumdar (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Willy Quach (Northeastern University), Mariana Raykova (Google), Amit Sahai (UCLA), Sina Shiehian (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor), Fang Song (Texas A&M U), Daniel Wichs (Northeastern University)