Fall 2018

Algebraic Methods

Dec. 3Dec. 7, 2018

Add to Calendar


Shubhangi Saraf (Rutgers University; chair), Amir Shpilka (Tel Aviv University), Madhu Sudan (Harvard University)
Algebraic methods are one of the most important tools in proving lower bounds for various computational models. They are prominent in communication complexity, quantum computation, study of AC^0 circuits, pseudorandomness and, most naturally, algebraic complexity. The topic of the workshop is algebraic techniques with a focus on algebraic complexity. Specifically, the workshop will present recent advances and developments and, in addition, the most approachable open problems.

Some specific topics to be covered include new techniques in proving lower bounds for arithmetic circuits, recent developments in the GCT program and some concrete open problems therein, recent advances in algebraic pseudorandomness, non-commutative models of computation, and the connection of all of these topics to areas such as proof complexity, analysis, geometry and combinatorics.

Further details about this workshop will be posted in due course.