Spring 2020

Quantum Cryptanalysis of Post-Quantum Cryptography

Feb. 22Feb. 24, 2020

Add to Calendar


Michele Mosca (University of Waterloo; chair), Vadim Lyubashevsky (IBM Research), Stacey Jeffery (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica), Elena Kirshanova (Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University)

In a short number of years, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) will standardize a small set of public-key algorithms designed to be resilient to quantum attacks. But will they be?

They are designed to resist the known quantum attacks, but can other quantum algorithmic tools be applied in novel ways to break the algorithms using the proposed parameters? Can new quantum algorithms break them?

The aim of this workshop is to bring quantum algorithms experts together with experts in post-quantum cryptography to develop and explore potential avenues for quantum attacks on these schemes and/or to build greater confidence that such attacks do not exist.

This workshop is part of both the Quantum Wave in Computing program and the Lattices: Algorithms, Complexity, and Cryptography program.

All events take place in the Calvin Lab auditorium on Saturday, February 22 and Monday, February 24.

Invited Participants: 

Ehud Altman (UC Berkeley), Rotem Arnon-Friedman (UC Berkeley), Srinivasan Arunachalam (MIT), Huxley Bennett (University of Michigan), Nina Bindel (University of Waterloo, Institute for Quantum Computing), Dan Boneh (Stanford University), Katharina Boudgoust (Rennes University), Harry Buhrman (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica), André Chailloux (Inria), Yilei Chen (Visa Research), Alessandro Chiesa (UC Berkeley), Thomas Espitau (Rennes University), Sanjam Garg (UC Berkeley), Vlad Gheorghiu (University of Waterloo), Rishab Goyal (UT Austin), Patrick Hayden (Stanford University), Martin Head-Gordon (UC Berkeley), David Jao (University of Waterloo), Stephen Jordan (Microsoft Research), Antoine Joux (Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu), Alexandra Kolla (University of Colorado Boulder), Venkata Vivek Kumar Koppula (Weizmann Institute of Science), Greg Kuperberg (UC Davis), Jonas Landman (University of Paris), Tanja Lange (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven), Francois Le Gall (Nagoya University), Debbie Leung (University of Waterloo), Lin Lin (UC Berkeley), Alex Lombardi (MIT), Fermi Ma (Princeton University), Frédéric Magniez (Université Paris-Diderot - Paris 7), Christian Majenz (University of Amsterdam), Chloe Martindale (University of Bristol), Gretchen Matthews (Virginia Tech), Alexander May (Ruhr-Universität Bochum), Arya Mazumdar (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Joel Moore (UC Berkeley), Priyanka Mukhopadhyay (University of Waterloo), Ashwin Nayak (University of Waterloo), Phong Nguyen (DIENS and Inria), Edoardo Persichetti (Florida Atlantic University), Oxana Poburinnaya (Boston University), Raluca Popa (UC Berkeley), Anupam Prakash (Université Paris Diderot), Willy Quach (Northeastern University), Prasad Raghavendra (UC Berkeley), Siobhan Roberts (New York Times/ Simons Institute Journalist in Residence), Martin Roetteler (Microsoft), Jérémie Roland (Université Libre de Bruxelles), Paolo Santini (Università Politecnica delle Marche), Nikhil Srivastava (UC Berkeley), Noah Stephens-Davidowitz (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Rotem Tsabary (Weizmann Institute), Umesh Vazirani (UC Berkeley), Birgitta Whaley (UC Berkeley), Norman Yao (UC Berkeley), Mike Zaletel (UC Berkeley), Leo de Castro (MIT)